2022 SXSW Film Festival Winners — Full List – Deadline

“It was extraordinary to gather together in person again after so long and we are so grateful to the filmmakers and audience who joined us at SXSW 2022 in Austin, Texas for our first in-person event since 2019,” said Janet Pierson, VP, Director of Film. “The program was celebrated across the board and tonight we get to give a special shout-out to the award winners.”

Selected by this season’s esteemed Juries, explore the recipients of the 2022 SXSW Film Festival Awards presented by Brightcove. Grab some popcorn and transport yourself into the virtual ceremony, as if your couch were the red seats of the Paramount Theatre.

Feature films receiving Jury Awards were selected from the Narrative Feature and Documentary Feature Competition categories. Also included are Shorts, Design, Virtual Cinema, and the following Special Awards: Louis Black “Lone Star” Award; Adobe Editing Award; Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award; Final Draft Screenwriters Award; ZEISS Cinematography Award; the Mailchimp Support the Shorts Award; and the Brightcove Illumination Award which honors a filmmaker on the rise, celebrating the innovation and creativity of new artists within the SXSW Film Festival official selections.

All films, except Special Events, are eligible for the SXSW Film Festival Audience Awardswhich will be certified by the accounting firm of Maxwell Locke & Ritter.

Tune into the 2022 SXSW Film Festival Awards winners live by category below.

Adobe Editing Award Everything Everywhere All At Once edited by Paul Rogers

The ZEISS Cinematography Award A Vanishing Fog with cinematography by Gio Park

Adam Yauch Hörnblower Award Chee$se directed by Damian Marcano!

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award What We Leave Behind directed by Iliana Sosa

Fandor New Voices Award What We Leave Behind directed by Iliana Sosa.

Mailchimp Support the Shorts Award The Voice Actress directed by Anna J. Takayama.

Special Jury Recognition for Exceptional Intimacy in Storytelling
Bad Axe directed by David Siev.

Special Jury Recognition for Acting in a Documentary Steve Glew for The Pez Outlaw.

Documentary Feature Competition Grand Jury Award Master of Light directed by Rosa Ruth Boesten.

Special Grand Jury Recognition for Extraordinary Cinematic Vision Cast and crew of It Is In Us All

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Performance Elizaveta Yankovskaya for Nika

Special Jury Recognition for Going the Extra Mile Myd – ‘Let You Speak’ directed by Dan Carr.

Special Jury Recognition for PowerfulShort Trip Omi directed by Kelly Fyffe-Marshall

Short Film Jury Awards for Midnight Shorts Moshari directed by Nuhash Humayuni

Short Film Grand Jury Award for Music Videos Desirée Dawson – ‘Meet Me At the Light’ directed by Alexander Farah

2022 Special Jury Recognition for Unique Vision in Writing and Directing My Year of Dicks directed by Sara Gunnarsdóttir

Special Jury Recognition for Unexpected Emotion Les Larmes de la Seine directed by Yanis Belaid and Eliott Benard

Special Jury Recognition for Visceral Storytelling Something in the Garden directed by Marcos Sanchez

Short Film Grand Jury Award for Animated Shorts goes to Bestia directed by Hugo Covarrubias.

Leave a Comment